YRCA 2018

YRCA 2018. Who wins? You decide!

The Young Reader’s Choice Award is the oldest children’s choice award in North America.  Started in 1940 by Harry Hartman, a Seattle publisher, it includes Alaska, Washington, Montana, Idaho, British Columbia, and Alberta. Students, teachers, and librarians nominate titles, but only kids get to determine the winner. There are three divisions: Junior (grades 4-6), Intermediate (grades 7-9), and Senior (grades 10-12), but you can read and vote in every division, no matter your grade.

Voting is now over. A big thanks to everyone who voted!  The winning books will be announced soon.

Official 2018 YRCA Nominees

Junior Division (Grades 4-6)

Intermediate Division (Grades 7-9)

Senior Division (Grades 10-12)

2018 Winners

Junior Division:

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson – received 3,394 votes

Intermediate Division:

Magnus Chase – The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan – received 1,087 votes

Senior Division:

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – received 640 votes

2017 Winners

Junior Division:

El Deafo by Cece Bell

Intermediate Division:

The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Senior Division:

Four by Veronica Roth