Picture Books

Check out what's new at APL!

Sort by:

Bedtime ballet

Bedtime ballet

George, K. (Kallie), 1983-, author
2021

Ease the wind-down to sleep with this graceful, playful rhyme that will have children gliding into bed! Two satin slippers with bunny-ear toes and stripy pajamas are dreamy dance clothes . . . When the sun sets, the ballet can begin! From the first notes of the crickets' outdoor orchestra to her grand finale indoors, one little girl glissés and jetés her way to bedtime. Rhyming verse, fun sound effects and elegant French words add delicious read-aloud flair to this delightful, dance-filled tale.

Show More


Book crooks!

Book crooks!

Marlee, J. J.
2021

Batman is ready to rumble with Riddler and the Penguin in this action-packed storybook! Two of Batman's greatest villains--the Penguin and Riddler--team up to steal a valuable book of ancient riddles from the Gotham City Museum. Who will have the last laugh? Little heroes 3 to 7-years-old will love finding out in this adventure that's packed with heroic action and lots of Batman tech.

Show More


The clean, green rescue!

The clean, green rescue!

Stevens, Cara J., author.
2021

Marshall, Rocky, Rubble, and the rest of Nickelodeon's PAW Patrol are always ready to recycle, reuse, and help the environment! Boys and girls ages 3-7 will enjoy this hardcover storybook that reminds readers that on one is too small to change the world. Get on the case with Nickelodeon's PAW Patrol! Chase, Marshall, Skye, and the rest of the pups are always ready to save their friends and protect the community of Adventure Bay using their vehicles, tools, and teamwork.

Show More


The day the kids took over

The day the kids took over

Apple, Sam, author
2021

When the children take charge and make Iris their leader, wonderful changes take effect, such as trampoline sidewalks and raining marshmallows, but to be a good leader Iris may have to make her hardest decision yet.

Show More


Don't hug Doug (he doesn't like it)

Don't hug Doug (he doesn't like it)

Finison, Carrie, author.
2021

Doug doesn't like hugs. He thinks hugs are too squeezy, too squashy, too squooshy, too smooshy. He doesn't like hello hugs or goodbye hugs, game-winning home run hugs or dropped ice cream cone hugs, and he definitely doesn't like birthday hugs. He'd much rather give a high five--or a low five, a side five, a double five, or a spinny five. Yup, some people love hugs; other people don't. So how can you tell if someone likes hugs or not? There's only one way to find out: Ask! Because everybody gets to decide for themselves whether they want a hug or not.

Show More


Mustache duckstache

Mustache duckstache

Young, Amy (Children's book author), author.
2021

When a mustachioed rabbit spots a mustache contest, he's sure he has the competition beat. That is, until a pesky frog hops up with his own fine mustache. And a duck waddles up with a...duckstache? Soon, the competition is full of moosestaches and mousestaches, whalestaches and tailstaches--and every kind of 'stache in between. Readers will love following this simple tale of hirsute havoc with a laugh-out-loud twist ending. Plus, there's a fun guide at the end to every kind of mustache imaginable!

Show More


On Sleepy Hill

On Sleepy Hill

Hegarty, Patricia.
2021

"Forest animals get ready to settle down for bedtime in this book filled with intricate, die-cut, peek-through pages"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Please don't read this book! : (seriously don't, don't, DON'T)

Please don't read this book! : (seriously don't, don't, DON'T)

Kizis, Deanna, author
2021

In this laugh-out-loud book that begs readers to break the rules, silliness and hilarity reign supreme! Perfect for fans of The Book with No Pictures. Wait--are you reading this book? Even though the cover asked you not to? Well, if you're going to read it, then you'll have to follow the rules, or you're going to have WAY too much fun. And you don't want to have FUN, do you? DO YOU?! That's what I thought. So definitely, positively, DO NOT read this book! Join along for zany antics, silly sounds, and endless fun in this breaks-the-fourth-wall book that will have readers coming back time and time again--regardless of what the title says.

Show More


Rise and funshine

Rise and funshine

West, Alexandra.
2021

Funshine and Dibble must save the day in this sweet book based on an episode from the animated television series, Care Bears: Unlock the Magic. Funshine learns he can be as fearless as one of his super hero comic book characters when the Team falls into a magical sleep. To awaken them, he must transport them in the Cloudseeker to a special place in the Silver Lining--but he has never driven it before. Read along to find out if he can save the day!

Show More


A sled for Gabo

A sled for Gabo

Otheguy, Emma, author.
2021

Gabo, shy with other children and having no sled or winter clothing, yearns to go sledding and his neighbor's granddaughter, Isa, helps him find a way.

Show More


Ten animals in Antarctica : a counting book

Ten animals in Antarctica : a counting book

Court, Moira, author.
2021

"Antarctica is the coldest, windiest, driest continent in the world, with icy deserts, mountain ranges, and volcanoes-some buried deep under the ice. Antarctica is home to some amazing and unique animals. How many can you count?"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


Ten little dumplings

Ten little dumplings

Fan, Larissa, author.
2021

In the village of Fengfu there lives a very special family - special because they have ten sons who do everything together. Their parents call them their ten little dumplings, as both sons and dumplings are auspicious. But if you look closely, you'll see that someone else is there, listening, studying, learning and discovering her own talent - a sister. As this little girl grows up in the shadow of her brothers, her determination and persistence help her to create her own path in the world... and becomes the wisdom she passes on to her own daughter, her own little dumpling.

Show More


chat loading...